What is ‘double opt in’?
If you’ve ever signed up for an email newsletter, chances are you’ve encountered a double opt-in. Essentially, it requires anyone who adds their email address to your popup to agree (again) to being added to your list. After submitting their email the first time, they will receive an email from MailChimp requesting confirmation that they would like to be signed up for your newsletter. You will not see their email on your MailChimp list until they have completed the double opt-in process.
Why can’t I see the emails immediately in MailChimp?
Pixelpop works fast, but it can still take a few minutes to transfer new emails from the app to your MailChimp list. Have faith! They’ll get there.
What else can I do in the Email Collection window?
Lots! You can download a CSV file of all the emails you’ve captured so far, change the list your popups are connected to, and disable the connection to your MailChimp account at any time.
Why are there emails in the email CSV that aren’t in MailChimp?
There’s a few reasons why the number of email addresses in your CSV file might not match up exactly with the number in MailChimp. For one, MailChimp will filter out emails it thinks are “fake,” such as “email@example.com” or “firstname.lastname@example.org.” MailChimp also doesn’t recognize “role addresses,” meaning emails that start with “info@” and “help@” and “webmaster@” might appear in a CSV file but not on your MailChimp list.
If you want to learn more about why MailChimp does this, you can do so right here, otherwise just realize that the numbers won’t always add up, and that’s perfectly okay.
What will happen if I de-authorize MailChimp from “Account Settings”?
Disconnecting MailChimp from your account settings will automatically disconnect all of your email signup popups from MailChimp at once, even if they’re unpublished. Your popups will no longer sync with MailChimp, however emails will continue to be captured and stored by Pixelpop (you can download a CSV file of them at any time).
If you decide to reconnect MailChimp, your popups will remain disconnected from MailChimp until you re-enable them individually. This can be done from the Email Connection dialog box, accessed through either your dashboard or the popup editor.
Do my unpublished popups sync to MailChimp?
Yes. Your popups do not need to be enabled in order to sync to MailChimp (though, obviously, no new emails will be added if your popup isn’t actively capturing email addresses).
If I delete my popup will I lose the subscribers that added from that popup?
You will no longer be able to access the CSV, however the emails captured will remain in MailChimp.
I see a red error bar at the top of my dashboard. Why?
If you delete a MailChimp list that a popup is currently connected to, Pixelpop will warn you that any emails being captured will no longer be connected to the MailChimp list. Make sure to change your list in the Email Connection window!
Are there any limits to the number of emails Pixelpop will collect and send to MailChimp?
No. Pixelpop will gather as many emails as possible and automatically sync them to MailChimp. You can never have too many friends!